Design of the new Osdorfer Weg pedestrian bridge in Hamburg

6th Hans Grassl Award


To win the 6th Hans Grassl Award, in the spring of 2018 the civil engineering master’s students of the Technische Universität Braunschweig specialising in steel construction were given one month to design the new Osdorfer Weg pedestrian bridge in Hamburg. Structural, aesthetic, urban planning and economic considerations were to be taken into account.

At the end of January, the jury judged the work of the student teams.

First place went to Philipp David, Lukas Krail, Johannes Rathgen and Moritz von Rekowski.

Lisa Christin Beckmann, Jacqueline Benda, Nina Stapenhorst, Diana Steinbach and Neele Stumpe won second place.

Marcel Grabowski, Hendrik Mischo, Yannick Rogge, Silke Scheffler and Michael-Ruben Zühlsdorf tied for third place with René Helmke, Wenxuan Hu, Leutrim Huruglica and Sven Stallkamp.


Visualisations of the award-winning student project © Ingenieurbüro GRASSL GmbH

Go back